Georgian citizens can enter Iran  visa-free for up to 90 days, while most foreign nationals can obtain 30-days visas at Iran’s airports.

Iran has reintroduced visa-free regime for Georgian citizens, Iran’s deputy ambassador to Georgia Mohsen Kebriaizadeh told journalists on Monday.

The decision follows a phone conversation between Georgian Prime Pinister Giorgi Kvirikashvili and Iranian President Hasan Rouhani, during which regional development and closer cultural ties were discussed and restoration of visa-free travel between the two countries was agreed.

On 14 February, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Iran announced that Iran’s international airports would from now on issue 30-days on-arrival visas for citizens of 180 countries.

‘Based on new Cabinet’s resolution, all airports having joint tourist border with Iran are obliged to issue visa. It is an important step to boost tourism industry and to facilitate entry of tourists to Iran’, Head of Cultural Heritage and Tourism Organisation Masud Soltanifar was quoted as saying.

Countries whose citizens still need to arrange their visa through consular services beforehand are Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Canada, Iraq, Jordan, Pakistan, Somalia, UK, and USA.

Citizens of Azerbaijan, Bolivia, Egypt, Georgia, Lebanon, Turkey, and Syria can travel to Iran visa-free for the period of maximum 90 days.

The government of Iran is currently seeking reciprocal visa-waiver programmes with countries selected on the basis of Iran’s priorities for attracting tourists.

‘Citizens of the countries which are ready to waive visa requirements for Iranian nationals will also receive visa waivers from the Islamic Republic in a reciprocal move’, Iran’s minister of foreign affairs Mohammad Javad Zafir told PressTV.