TBILISI, DFWatch – The foreign ministers of Georgia, Azerbaijan and Turkey met Friday in Trabzon and signed a declaration about regional cooperation.

The three countries were represented by Azerbaijan’s Foreign Affairs Minister Elmar Mammadyarov, Turkey’s Foreign Minister Ahmet Davutoglu and Grigol Vashadze, Georgian Foreign Minister, Azerbaijan news agency trend.az reports.

Azerbaijan’s foreign minister noted the importance of regional cooperation and the implementation of energy and infrastructure projects between the three countries.

Girgol Vashadze noted that this is a new cooperation, aimed at protecting the interests of the three countries.

In a joint declaration, the three emphasized their strategic relationships and recognized that they have already carried out a number of joint regional projects in the economic area.

“We have decided to formalize our strategic partnership and make it more dynamic,” said Vashadze.

Azerbaijan’s foreign minister noted that the recent shooting incidents at the border between Azerbaijan and Armenia has shown that the conflict is not frozen, and added that this conflict is undermining security and stability in the region, as well as a danger to the region’s future.

With only Armenia absent among the southern Caucasus nations, Georgia’s foreign minister assured that this new cooperation is not to be taken as a threat.

“The new format is not directed against anyone and is only strengthening the strategic cooperation between our countries,” Vashadze made clear.