TBILISI, DFWatch–While Georgian citizens are waiting for the final decision about a visa waiver system with the European Union, Serbia prepares to waive its visa rules for citizens of not only Georgia but also its two neighbors in the South Caucasus.

“It was decided to initiate a procedure to abolish visas for holders of ordinary passports with Azerbaijan, Armenia and Georgia, and to initiate the abolition of visas for holders of diplomatic and official passports with a certain group of countries,” Serbia’s Foreign Ministry announced on Tuesday.

According to Georgia’s Ministry of Internal Affairs, staff at its embassy in Greece are working to specify details regarding dates and procedures for suspending visa requirements.

Georgians wanting to visit Serbia currently have to obtain a visa from the Serbian consulate in Kiev, Ukraine, but can enter visa-free if they have residency permit in either the United States, a country within the Schengen area, the United Kingdom, Northern Ireland or an EU country.

Serbia will become the 26th country to allow Georgians entry without a visa. The following countries already allow visa free visits for Georgians:

Andorra Iran
Antigua and barbuda Kazakhstan
Armenia Kyrgyzstan
Argentina Malaysia
Azerbaijan Moldova
Bahamas Mongolia
Barbados Panama
Belarus Samoa
Colombia Tajikistan
Brasil Turkey
Ecuador Ukraine
Haiti Uzbekistan