Dimitry Shashkin brings with him many officials from the education ministry to his new job as defense minister. (IPN.)

TBILISI, DFWatch – Two ministers who where switched around in a government reshuffle are taking their staff with them.

Former education minister Dimitry Shashkin is the new defense minister, and officials from the education ministry are now following after him.

On Monday Shashkin named his new deputies and departments heads.

Akaki Seperteladze, who used to be deputy prison and education minister, will become first deputy defense minister.

Davit Akhalaia, who chaired the interior ministry’s constitutional security department, also known as Kud, will be deputy defense minister.

Also new deputy defense minister is Maya Siprashvili. She was the prison minister’s adviser in 2009. Later in 2010 she became chair of international relations and program department at the education ministry. She was given the presidential awards of excellence and dignity.

Davit Nardia, who was rector at the National Defense Academy, will also be deputy defense minister.

Ioseb Topuridze, who used to be deputy chair of the constitutional security department at the interior ministry, will be head of the joint staff’s administration. Head of the defense ministry’s administration will be Genrieta Mumladze, who has held the same position at the education ministry and the prison ministry.

Irakli Andriashvili will be chair of internal audit. Eka Chumburidze – head of the public affairs department, Roin Giunashvili – chair of the finance management department, Ketevan Asistishvili – chair of the defense policy and planning department, Nana Rostbaia – chair of the state purchasing department, Teimuraz Iobidze – chair of the military-technical issues department.

A new department will be established at the ministry, to be headed by Giorgi Gulua: The department of information technologies.

Also new interior minister, Backo Akhalaia, is bringing with him old staff from his former post, the defense ministry.

The first deputy interior minister will remain Ekaterine Zghuladze, but the other four are: Shota Khizanishvili, Shalva Janashvili, Giorgi Lortkipanidze, and Nodar Kharshiladze.

Chief of border police of the ministry of internal affairs will be Nika Dzimtseishvili, head of the special operative department, colonel Vakhtang Botchorishvili, head of the constitutional security department – colonel Levan Kardava, head of the counter-intelligence department – lieutenant colonel Revaz Shiukashsvili, head of the general inspection – colonel Tengiz Gunava.