TBILISI, DFWatch — Georgia’s eighth parliamentary assembly has three factions from the majority and three from the minority. 15 parliamentary committees were established.

The Georgian Dream coalition, which is the new parliament majority, on Sunday set up three factions, which will be chaired by Zakaria Kutsnashvili – Georgian Dream faction, Irakli Chikovani – Georgian Dream Free Democrats Faction, and Davit Berdzenishvili – Georgian Dream Republicans faction.

The minority also set up three factions. The largest one is United National Movement (UNM), where there are members of parliament (MPs) from party lists and several from single mandate districts, so-called majoritarians. It will be chaired by Goka Gabashvili.

Two other small factions were set up by UNM majoritarians, chaired by Akaki Bobokhidze, the elected majoritarian from Tskhaltubo district, chaired by Tariel Londaridze, majoritarian from Aspindza district.

According to Georgian legislation, the number of faction has importance during political debates, during law reviews, bureau meetings and while making decisions, because the chair of a faction is considered a full member of the bureau. During debates factions have additional time for speeches.

On Sunday, 15 parliamentary committees were set up as well. All of them are chaired by majority representatives.

Gigla Agulashvili was approved by 84 votes to chair committee on agricultural issues; Eka Beselia, will chair committee for human rights and civic integration (91 votes); Ivane Kighuradze will chair committee for education, science and culture (81 votes against 1), Zurab Zviadauri, Olympic Champion in Judo will chair committee on environment protection and natural resources (82 votes), Zurab Tkemaladze – economy and economic policy committee (88 votes against 1), Gubaz Sanikidze – committee on diaspora and Caucasus issues (84 votes), Viktor Dolidze – Committee on Eurointegration (88 votes), Irakli Sesiashvili – committee on Defense and Security (86 votes), Vakhtang Khmaladze, lawyer and constitution expert – judiciary committee (90 votes), Erekle Tripolsky – committee of regional policy, local government and mountainous regions (90 votes), Tedo Japaridze, former Foreign Affairs Minister – committee of foreign affairs (89 votes), Irina Imerlishvili – committee of procedures and rules (89 votes), Davit Onoprishvili – finance budget committee (85 votes), Leri Khabelovi – sports committee (90 votes), Dimitry Khundadze – committeeon health- care and social issues.