TBILISI, DFWatch–Schools are closed in several municipalities in Georgia from Tuesday due to heavy snowfall.

The Adjara region in the southwest of Georgia is particularly affected. According to Deputy Education Minister Lia Gigauri, all schools are closed in Batumi, Kobuleti and Khelvachauri. Ten schools are also closed in the mountainous municipality Keda.

In the nearby Guria region, all school are closed in Lanhckhuti, while 48 schools are closed in Ozurgeti.

In the Mtskheta-Mtianeti region, near the capital, 15 schools are closed.

“As far as we know, today and tomorrow will be most difficult. Schools will be closed for these days. Later, we will see if the weather improves and make the appropriate decision,” she told journalists.

The ministry is publishing updates of which schools are closed:

The snow is more than a meter deep in the coastal city Batumi, almost paralyzing traffic on central streets. Only cars with four-wheel drive can move freely.

Municipal transport has difficulties, despite attempts by the local government to clear the streets of snow.

More than 200 households in Makhinjauri are without electricity. Kindergartens are also shut.

According to the Roads Department, the snow is also causing interruptions for traffic in Adjara and Guria. Heavy vehicles are prohibited from driving in Adjaria, while smaller vehicles are asked to use snow chains.

Road restrictions remain in place in the north of Georgia near the Russian border. The S-7 road is closed between Gudauri Kobi due to a danger of avalanches.

Heavy trailers are prohibited from driving in the Rikoti pass, which connects eastern and western Georgia, as well as in Nakerala pass, the Tbilisi by-pass road, on the road between Choloki bridge and Sarpi, and the sections Gomi-Sachkhere-Chiatura and Tbilisi-Bakurtsikhe-Lagodekhi.

Between Mleta and Gudauri, cars are required to be equipped with snow chains. Heavy vehicles are prohibited from driving in Gombori pass, the shortcut to Telavi. Other types of vehicles must use snow chains.

The Roads Department operates a hotline for enquiries: (+995) (0) 32 2 31 30 76.