TBILISI, DFWatch — Georgia’s Central Election Commission (CEC) has approved the final results of the October 1 parliamentary election.

According to the summary protocol, the Georgian Dream coalition received 54.97 percent, while United National Movement received 40.34 percent of votes.

2 215 661 people voted in total. 62 874 votes were invalidated.

According to the final results, Georgian Dream will have 85 seats in the new parliament, while the National Movement will have 65. This means that President Saakashvili’s National Movement party has over a third of seats and can block constitutional changes.

41 of Georgian Dreams members of parliament (MPs) will be elected according to the majoritarian system while 44 the proportional; the National Movement will have 32 MPs elected by the majoritarian system and 33 by the proportional system.

The results of eleven precincts from three districts were annulled due to violations and there was a repeat election October 14. According to the CEC’s results, Georgian Dream candidates won in all three districts.

In three majoritarian districts there will be held by-election in 2013 to fill the seats of three who were appointed government ministers by incoming prime minster Bidzina Ivanishvili.

The first session of the new parliament is on Sunday, October 21.

No other election lists managed to overcome the 5 percent barrier for being guaranteed seats in the assembly.