TBILISI, DFWatch–President of Georgia on Monday approved the list of nine new ambassadors, by signing the document which parliament passed February 20.

The new ambassadors are those serving in Belgium, Ukraine, France, US, Hungary, Austria, Latvia, Czech Republic and Italy.

The Foreign Affairs Ministry had sent a list of 19 candidates for the diplomatic corps to President Mikheil Saakashvili, but the list he came to back to parliament with contained only nine names.

Until now, the president has not had time to sign the document about new ambassadors. This delay may cause problems, according to Foreign Affairs Minister Maia Panjikidze, as it will take time to prepare new ambassadors and that means they will not be posted before summer.

When there was a change of government after the parliamentary election, some ambassadors resigned, while others served out their service term. It is unknown who will replace the rest of Georgia’s diplomatic corps.