TBILISI, DFWatch–The EU Parliament is voting today over whether to ratify an treaty with Georgia signed in June and already partly in force.

The so-called association agreement offers free trade to EU’s vast market in return for incorporating hundreds of EU regulations into national legislation.

At the same time as the ratification, the EU parliament will vote on a resolution about Georgia.

In order for the agreement to come into force, all EU’s 28 members states plus Georgia and the EU parliament must ratify it.

According to Georgia’s Foreign Ministry, ten countries have so far ratified it: Romania, Bulgaria, Lithuania, Latvia, Malta, Slovakia, Estonia, Hungary, Sweden and Croatia.

The vote, which will be attended by many government representatives from Georgia, will also be broadcast live in the cinema room of parliament in Kutaisi, starting 14:00.