Former energy minister Alexandre Khetaguri is the new finance minister of Georgia. (IPN.)

TBILISI, DFWatch – Two ministers have been changed after the new Georgian government was approved. No reason was given for suddenly making the energy minister finance minister, and the head of the local government committee of parliament, energy minister.

Prime Minister Vano Merabishvili announced the changes on Monday during a visit to Guria, a region west in Georgia.

Parliament approved the new government in July. It had a new prime minister and the law requested parliament to declare trust in the new government.

Two ministers were since changed. Alexandre Khetaguri was appointed finance minister. He replaced Dimitry Gvindadze. Former member of parliament Vakhtang Balavadze now holds the post of energy minister.

Alexandre Khetaguri had been energy minister from August 2007. Dimitry Gvindadze replaced Kakha Baindurashvili in 2011 in the post of economy minister. It is yet unknown what position he will hold now. Vano Merabishvili said that in two days he will hold new a position, but he didn’t specify.

The prime minister said Gindadze had been successful in his job and that he had accomplished much at the finance ministry in regards to forming a stable finance system and increasing the country’s income and rating.

Merabishvili also said that it is Alexandre Khetaguri’s merits that no one today cares about not having electricity, that’s why he decided to appoint him to one of the most important positions — finance minister.

Prime Minister called Vakhtang Balavadze, the new energy minister, a young party leader. For the last two parliament assemblies, Balavadze has chaired the committee on regional policy, government and mountain regions.

According to Georgian law, parliament has to declare trust in the cabinet of ministers if one third of the ministers are replaced. There are twenty ministers and one state minister in the cabinet.